How to perform Time Machine Data Recovery?
To restore data from time machine you have to use the Time Machine Recovery Tool. Time Machine is a tool built to create advanced backup, developed by Apple. Using this tool you can create incremental backup of data like events, songs, contacts, calendar, pictures, etc. This takes few minutes and can result in keeping the files saved for Mac OS. This will help you in a process when your data is lost from your Mac machines. Mistakenly the loss or deletion of file takes place and unwillingly as well. Sometimes even hard disk may get corrupted or crashes, in such cases you have to recover hard disk Mac using Mac Hard Disk Data Recovery Software.
The tool is so powerful that it gives seamless backups and easy restoration. The backup can give you all your lost/deleted files from your Mac OS. The backup gives the assurance of data loss from system crash or due to human error (then how to perform time machine data recovery?). In other terms it can be said that, it is “set it to forget” process. Once it is initiated then it doesn’t need any attention or care.
There are a few situations where the data is lost even in Time Machine. Hence, if your files are lost from Time Machine then you can do nothing with it. If any data loss scenario occurs between new backup creation and deletion of old backup, then only one option is left and that is to make recovery.
Here are few mentioned scenarios which are responsible for the deletion/loss of files/folders:
Deletion of data files from Time Machine unwillingly: Old backup is deleted automatically when the storage space is full. This deletion of files may result in problem for you as there might be some important files in the backups. There are few cases when you, yourself delete important files from backup folders. This loss might be unbearable as the file deleted may be important to you.
Sometime network can create problems when using Time Machine for backup creation: Sometimes your network may not respond properly while your backup creation process is working at background. While backup is in process for creation and if the network raises problem then one pop window will appear on your screen. This is due to security purpose and for the data reliability. There are two buttons in the popup windows, one is Backup later and the other one is Start New Backup. If you click Start New Backup option then the old backup will be deleted and again the new backup will be generated. This will delete all your files which were merged in the old backups.
In other case if you select the second option then the system will stop the process at once and will ask you to start it after 24 hours. But meanwhile if system crashes or it gets formatted accidentally then there might be problem of files loss.
If OS is crashed : Sometimes when operating system does not boot or it get crashed due to certain reasons then the data in it will become inaccessible. This may be the reason for data loss at last, including the backup.
These were the main reasons but few more of them are mentioned below:
- Less space left in volumes for backup process creations
- Absence of volumes could be another reasons for files or folder loss
The only option that can be opt for is to use the backup recovery tool. The tool is easy to use and in very few minutes you will be able to recover the files from Mac Time Machine. There is no risk when using the software to recover the data from it. The tool will extract all the files and will let you to regain the files from the backup.
Follow the steps to perform Time Machine data recovery:
Step i: Launch the software and from the welcome screen of the software select "Recover Volumes/Drives" as illustrated in figure A.
Figure 1: Select Recover Volumes/Drives
Step ii: On the next screen of the software, you have two option i.e. "Volume Recovery" and "Formatted/Re-formatted Recovery", select the second option and then select the hard drive from the list of logical drive as illustrated in figure B.
Figure 2: Select the Volume
Step iii: Preview the resulted file of Time Machine Backup after process gets completed and then "Save" it on the computer.
Figure 3: Save Screen